What I’m Into – June 2014 Edition

Late afternoon by the old Brighton pier

Late afternoon by the old Brighton pier

Good grief. It’s that time again and I feel like the month has only just begun. Where has June gone? What have I done with it? I haven’t got a clue and it’s an unsettling thought.

What I’m Watching

Regular shows: Orphan Black, Parks & Rec, Emma Approved (web-based).

I decided to start watching The Good Wife again despite the fact that I missed half a season, right before the devastating bit that everyone was spoiled for after it was leaked online. I love this show, and I am not sorry. But I will have to watch the missing episodes if there is a rerun in the future.

The most exciting thing I did this month was to start a complete re-watch of all 10 seasons of Friends. I’ve never done a sitcom marathon of this size before and I got a bit giddy at the thought, especially when I realised that there is a load of episodes I have never seen before in the latter seasons. I’ve already watched the first three seasons (in a week, eek!) and I have questions, which I’m sure were answered by everyone 10 years ago but there’s nothing like a re-watch to make you notice things you’d never seen before. Like, Ross, I hate you, you hideous Nice Guy.

What I’m Reading

I haven’t got a clue what I read this month. I’ve tried to continue the books I’d already started and just couldn’t get into it, again! Let’s call it The ‘Friends‘ Effect. I did read one book from start to finish, The Ocean At The End of The Lane, and I highly recommend it. You can always check out my Goodreads account to see all the books I didn’t finish this month.

What I’m Listening To

I’ve had the Spotify UK top list on a loop this month but I always start with the same song, West Coast by Lana Del Rey, because it’s gorgeous (although I haven’t got a clue what she is talking about, probably nothing good!).

 Favourite Picture

Luciole birthday week

 

What I’ve Been Doing

  • Mostly, I’ve been looking after the girls and it has felt just about enough to cope with.
  • I did organise Luciole’s first birthday party, which was eventful in itself but turned out wonderfully. One down, two to go!

On The Blogosphere

  • The scary ham is very scary indeed.
  • You’d have thought there would be nothing left to say about The Lord of the Rings movie, especially after so many years, and then comes this thoughtful post about how in the book the Shire was actually very much touched by the war and why the fact that this aspect was missed in the movie is a real shame and makes it a poorer film even though the movie was really long enough already.
  • Dads Aren’t Dumb – or useless or second-rate parents worthy only of ‘babysitting duties’.

At Home on the Blog

I kicked off with Naughty Children and Using Words Wisely, which is a challenging topic I need to remind myself of every day, because words mean things and it matters what we say to our children, and by extension how we speak to anyone.

Then I hit a dry run so I posted poetry because I was feeling bad about the blog being neglected – and also because I found a poem I’d attempted to write out in calligraphy and thought, what the heck, it’s not completely terrible so let’s post it (here’s my writing process for you, impressive, isn’t it?).

Finally, my baby girl turned one and we braved the elements to celebrate her life French-style, with a massive buffet.

 

Ad that’s it for June! As usual, I’m joining with Leigh Kramer for the What I’m Into link-up.

 

 

3 thoughts on “What I’m Into – June 2014 Edition

  1. sounds like a full month! kudos on celebrating one year for your sweet girl! I’m with you on a full month of chasing kiddos and living life!
    Visiting via Leigh Kramer.

Leave a comment below! Please please please

