Weetabix: an instrument for good or for evil?

This is a genuine question I asked myself this morning.

 

FOR: Little Girl loves Weetabix. She’s capable of eating a whole one for breakfast, which I didn’t think was possible at her age. Whilst I prefer to eat mine with a couple of spoons of sugar on top, she is clearly happy with the raw taste and why not? It’s full of goodness apparently and I am not going to argue, when my own breakfast is often nothing more than a bowl of corn flakes (with sugar on top – for taste). All this fiber and slow energy-release stodge-tastic cereal is like the food equivalent of a Duracell battery, it helps her go for longer without needing a top-up.

AGAINST: It’s an absolute nightmare to clean up. First it disintegrate into a disgusting-looking mush, which she happily uses to paint abstract shapes on her high chair tray, then within seconds it dries up, turns to plaster and sticks to everything. Much scrubbing ensues but I always miss a bit and can then be sure to find some stuck behind an ear or up her nose halfway through the day.

Weetabix baby breakfast

 

How can one food item be so good and so evil at the same time? It’s right up there with curry in the nasty food category. Curry is there because of the nappies. I will say no more.

5 thoughts on “Weetabix: an instrument for good or for evil?

  1. Evil, most definitely, welds to everything and refuses to budge plus tasteless mush, bleurghh. I have always quite liked my two eating curry, weirdly positive effect on nappy odour issues….

  2. Expat Mammy says:

    Oh I’m completely on the against wagon but like your wee one my wee man loves it. It’s usually welded to his face and between his fingers

Leave a comment below! Please please please

